The Fat Loaf

This evening, I travelled across from Leeds to Sale, my hometown, to take my Mother out for her birthday. I opted for one of her favourite spots – the Fat Loaf in Ashton Village.

The Fat Loaf, I’m fairly certain, originally had two sites – one in Altrincham and one in Ashton Village in Sale. We ate at the Fat Loaf in Ashton Village a couple of times when I was much younger, and I remember having a minute steak there on one occasion, marinated in garlic and soya sauce. Minute steak cooked well is a pleasure to eat – and this one was. 

This evening, me and my Mum ordered a feast. We opted for some olives to share, as well as a flat bread topped with caramelised onion and Reblochon cheese. Mum went for haggis and black pudding, followed by veal. I opted for scallops, followed by sirloin steak – medium rare. 

My scallops were cooked beautifully and the chorizo salsa they sat on was flavourful and fresh. However, the scallops were served with the roe, which doesn’t appeal to me, and the whole dish was overpowered by coriander. The flat bread we shared was crisp and sweet from the onions. I felt that the cheese, although tasty, didn’t offer enough salt and so the dish needed more seasoning. The steak was clearly a good quality cut of meat, but it was not served medium rare – it was blue. I didn’t send it back because, with it being a good quality piece of meat, I was happy to eat it, but it was literally just sealed in the pan. The chips and salad the steak was served with were nice, and I particularly liked the Fat Loaf sauce – an enjoyable balance of sweet, salty and sour. 

We were pretty full by this point, but when I saw rhubarb jelly on the desert menu, I couldn’t resist. This was definitely the highlight of the meal for me. The jelly was served with a rhubarb compote and custard. The dish was beautifully balanced and I could have eaten it several times over. 

Overall, I was impressed with the quality of the food served, but didn’t feel ‘wowed’ by the experience. The service was really good – the ladies serving us were really warm and friendly, even topping up our desert wine in celebration of my Mum’s birthday. The cost was around £90, including a tip, for three courses, sides, a bottle of wine and desert wine.

Leave a Reply

