Matthew’s Certain Sauce

The cupboards are a bit bare at the moment. As I was driving home, I called Matthew to ask him to put some pasta on, from the extra large bag we have hiding in the cupboard for quick teas and emergencies. I was so busy today; I didn’t have time for lunch. This is an example of an emergency – either have some pasta nearly ready when I walk through the door or I’ll consume everything in my path. As the pasta cooked, Matthew alerted me to (in his usual highly critical manner) a lack of sauce (from a jar). We’ve got tinned tomatoes; I can make a sauce.

Matthew has a tendency to be very apprehensive about anything I make that isn’t from a recipe, even though he knows I have a good palette. I like to be a bit creative in the kitchen sometimes – it’s that feeling you get when it tastes good and it’s all come from you, your brain. Matthew doesn’t feel the same; he likes to follow a recipe. I find his methodical approach and desire to avoid change, embrace simplicity, quite comforting, reassuring, but I do get frustrated when he doesn’t seem convinced about my ability to whip up something tasty! However, this sauce was tasty. It was real tasty. For that reason, I want to share it with you.

This is Matthew’s Certain (Sceptical) Sauce.

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil (for frying; I used one infused with basil and garlic)
  • Garlic purée (3 tbsp)
  • One tin of chopped tomatoes
  • Crafty Bustard’s Chilli & Garlic Chutney (3 tsp)
  • Tomato purée (1 tbsp)
  • Capers from a jar of capers in vinegar, chopped (4 tbsp)
  • 6 tsp of the vinegar from the caper jar
  • 300g of mixed antipasti, from the fresh counter at your local supermarket, roughly chopped
  • 1 mild red chilli, sliced into rounds with seeds left in
  • Balsamic glaze with truffle (this must be good quality and you want a really decent drizzle)
  • Crumbled beef oxo cube – just one (or not if you’re going for the vegetarian option)
  • Red wine vinegar (2 tbsp)
  • Worcestershire sauce (1 tbsp)
  • Balsamic vinegar (2 tbsp)

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in a large frying pan on a medium heat
  2. Squeeze in the garlic purée (watch out for the spitting)
  3. Quickly pour in the chopped tomatoes and stir
  4. Add in the remaining ingredients and give it a good stir – make sure the crumbled oxo cube doesn’t congeal into big lumps
  5. Stir as the sauce simmers
  6. Once the sauce is your desired consistency, remove from the heat
  7. Pour the cooked pasta into the pan and stir to coat with the sauce
  8. Serve immediately – and enjoy

I’ve got some left for my lunch tomorrow. Looking forward to it already.

Leave a Reply

